all posts post new thread

Old Forum SFG I Double 24kg MP conditioning progressions to succeed

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

VikingStrong

First Post
Hi Everyone, I just completed the SFG I Instructor Cert in San Diego last week - and must re-condition/strengthen to 'comfortably' MP 5x Double 24kg to earn my cert. I also will re-submit my SSST 5min test. It was awesome, inspiring, fatiguing and left stronger indeed.

I can MP with Double 20kg x5-7, but only 2-3 with Double 24's. I really want to earn my SFG Instructor Cert 'comfortably' with full control, strength and safety.

Any suggestions to Condition + Build tensile strength ? I am still a Student of Strength and always willing to learn. Full body tension + Power breathing practice etc  Hard Work and Patience.

My thoughts were progressive rep/weight ladders with Double 16's, 20's and single 24's for perfect form 2-3 times weekly, and also lots of shoulder mobility with Bretzels, arm bars, Halos to park KB overhead/ and of course polishing Double Cleans for MP set up...releasing grip BEFORE crush gripping feels great!

My personal MP goal for June 2014 = Double MP 28kg x5, multiples; December MP = 32kg x5.

Any help, advice would be greatly appreciated from this amazing school of strength and spirit.

Michaël Rasborn - Viking Strong, Lake Forest, CA

For double pressing strength, you can't go wrong with Kettlebell strong.

How close are you to nailing your snatch test?

Looking forward to welcoming you to the family

Yeah.  Don't major in minors.  If the task is to quickly get good at 5 press reps with 2 x 24 kilo bells, then......do many presses with two 24 kilo bells.  Ladders gets volume relatively painlessly.