all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Shadow Swings

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Lew

Level 3 Valued Member
I read with interest the section on Shadow Swings in S&S. Harald M and several others have referenced these. I now understand what they are.

I am new to S&S, but I feel my form and technique coming together.

When I feel I can do 10 nearly perfect swings, could I convert to shadow swings while I am doing two-handed swings?

Lew, citing Kettlebell. Simple & Sinister:
" Employ overspeed eccentrics or shadow swings only with light kettlebells - 30% of your bodyweight or less - and only in two-arm swings. Hike the bell back with all-out acceleration and aggression. Hard style!

Pavel also recommends not doing them until you are working the 32. As always, for good reason! Not wishing to discourage you but you should put that idea on the back burner for a while. Get your swing volume and weight up to the 32.....so that's at least 10x10 with the 24 before you start using the 32.

Harald,
I am currently swinging 16kg, so up to 30% of my current weight would be up to ~44kg.

But 30% of what I should weigh would be a little less than 32kg.

I was wondering since I'm new and starting light, if I would get more out of two handed shadow swing within the context of S&S.

Ali,
I found the 32kg reference for high volume swing tests in S&S, but not for shadow swings.
Does this mean I can't do shadow swings once my weight dips below ~230lbs if I can't start until I'm swinging 32kg and that can't be more than 30% of my weight?