all posts post new thread

Simplifying with S&S

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

MattBM

Level 1 Valued Member
I’ve been doing some bodyweight training for the last 3 or 4 years. I’ve played with other forms of training at times, including weightlifting and kettlebells, but the majority of my strength training history has been calisthenics.

Prior to “serious” strength training I boxed competitively for 12 years or so. (some as an amateur and some as a pro)

Anyway, becoming a new dad, I have struggled to find an appropriate balance with training, and I keep drifting between too little with no goal, and too much with unrealistic goals for me right now.

On top of that, I’ve been stuck at an early intermediate level with my bodyweight training for a while and getting a but burnt out. I am ready to expand my horizons a bit, as I’ve never really dedicated time to kettlebells.

I’m doing S&S to help me minimize thing’s while also having a focused goal. So far, I’ve been doing a quick complex on the gymnastic rings prior to my S&S sessions (Muscle-Up>4-5 Ring Dips>Hang>3-5 Skin the Cats>3-5 Tucked Front Lever Rows>Hang)

Anyway, into the log:

Day 1, 9/5/21:
Ring Complex
S&S Warm-Up (16kg Kettlebell)

Swings w/ 24kg: L10, R10, L10, R10, L10, R10, L10, R10, T10, T10.

- Noticed my swing form sucks, good thing Ill be getting lots of practice. Knees bending a bit too much, and arms not loose enough.
-1H swings kill my grip, will spend more time on TH for now.
- 10 sets of 1H with a 32kg seems impossible right now, looking forward to the progress.

TGU: 4ps24kg, 1ps16kg.

- Never spent much time with these, so lots of polishing up to do.
—————————————————————————-
Day 2, 9/6/21:

Ring Complex
SS Warm-Up

Swings 24kg: T10, L10, R10, T10, T10, T10, T10, T10, T10, T10
- Swing form already improving drastically. Keeping the butt tight til the bell at my crotch is a killer cue.