all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Skin The Cat + Kip Extensions

Steve Freides

Staff
Senior Certified Instructor Emeritus
Elite Certified Instructor
I'm self-taught at these so I imagine there are many things for a proper gymnast to criticize - and y'all are welcomed to tell me what those things are, so long as you don't insist that I change them :) - but I enjoy doing both the StC and the KE. Age 69, bodyweight 150, and really tight shoulders that always feel better after these.

-S-

I just had to go do a couple on my pull-up bar!
Let's have a video, please!

I've worked on my front lever on a bar, but not a Skin the Cat - my lower back is pretty inflexible and I'd have to do some fancy leg crossing thing. Maybe I'll try it over the summer when my wife is around more and can dial 911 when I fall off the bar.

:)

-S-

Let's have a video, please!

I've worked on my front lever on a bar, but not a Skin the Cat - my lower back is pretty inflexible and I'd have to do some fancy leg crossing thing. Maybe I'll try it over the summer when my wife is around more and can dial 911 when I fall off the bar.

:)

-S-
Another reason to do another set ;)

These might enter GtG rotation....

Edit: if I had the ceiling space I think I could still do them in a full pike

I'm self-taught at these so I imagine there are many things for a proper gymnast to criticize - and y'all are welcomed to tell me what those things are, so long as you don't insist that I change them :) - but I enjoy doing both the StC and the KE. Age 69, bodyweight 150, and really tight shoulders that always feel better after these.

-S-