all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Strength/Endurance Programming advice please...

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

KIWIQU82

Level 4 Valued Member
Hi team,

Background:

My name is Jeremy and I am a 39 year old male.

I'm am currently a frontline Police Officer and wear a ballistic vest when on duty.

Previously I was a full-time Tactical Officer so I have a solid foundation of fitness and a solid work ethic.

Due to my age and previous role, I do have some aches and pains due to previous injuries etc. but overall I have found them to be manageable.

I scored well on the functional movement test (always room for improvement though).

I have done S&S previously and up until recently was doing ROP.

I liked that these routines (S&S and ROP) could be completed within a 30-40 minute window, but felt that although I improved in certain areas (overhead press for example), I did not improve in other areas (lower body and horizontal push for example).

Goals:

My goal is to have a BALANCE of FULL_BODY strength and endurance. I don't want to be too narrow-focused.

I intend to work towards a Krav Maga instructor role also.

Recommendations sought:

I'm looking for a full-body strength/endurance routine that utilizes compound bodyweight exercises that can be made progressively more difficult by simply adding weight.

I have a window of around 30 minutes in which to get my work done and get out so it needs to be an efficient routine.

I work 6 days on, 3 days off.

So...I'd like to gather some opinions from members (incl. Pavel) on the following routine which I've thrown together:

Day 1:
Dips and Pull ups - 5x Ascending Ladders of 1,2,3,4,5 (15 reps total per ladder)
Ab Wheel/TRX Roll outs

Day 2:
Pistols (with a single leg calf raise at the top) and Nordic Curls - 5x Ascending Ladders of 1,2,3,4,5 (15 reps total per ladder)
Plank

Days 3, 4, 5, 6 simply cycle through Day 1 and 2 again.