all posts post new thread

Old Forum Strength Program

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

DocMike

Level 6 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
I am fairly new to the forum here but not to the iron.  I have been doing KB intermittently for 3 years and BB for the last 8 months.  My current program is a Juggernaut 2.0 based program mixing BB main lifts with KB and traditional assistance exercises (Snatch, C&P, Swings, Dips, Pull-ups) but I have pieced this together on my own.  My program does one main lift first (bench, squat, OHP, DL) and 3 accessories each day (4 days a week) and I am making great progress on my OHP and DL and moderate progress on the bench and squat.  Does anyone have any input on how to program the accessories so as to gain the most strength?  I can't find much info on programming (reps/sets) for using the KB as an accessory for powerlifting.

Hello Michael Steger,

That will depend on you! I'm not a big believer in cookie-cutter accessory work. It's popular today to do a lot of hamstrings and lower back exercises for the squat but blasting the quads brought up my squat much faster. Dan Green has mentioned something similar. You just have to find what works for you.

With that said, KB's will probably have more carryover to the OHP and the DL for most due to the high emphasize of the swinging motion and overhead work. For BP and BSq there are likely better equipment alternatives. Maybe the double KB front squat would do something for MY Bsq (taking into account what I wrote above)... As for you, it's hard to say.

But are you sure that the accessories is the real problem here? What does your progression look like? And what's going on with your body - are you gaining or losing weight?

I'm reading Juggernaut 2.0 right now.  It will probably be my next BB program.