all posts post new thread

Old Forum The one arm pullup- a question for Pavel.

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

_dav

First Post
Pavel I would like to have an advice from you about what kind of work I should do to close a one arm pullup.

I started training  it one month ago and my current level is a half-one arm pullup starting from the top position.

Thanks a lot I really admire your work!

I greased the groove throughout the day with slow oa pullup negatives, then added in the halfs, then the fulls. I made quick progress this way, but i was already really good at normal pullups.

Here's how I did it, fwiw: Lots of statics, some partials, and an emphasis on heavy weighted chins. http://affectinggravity.blogspot.com/2013/07/the-first-one-arm-chin.html

Dave, first learn proper hollow position pullups.  Second, get good at weighted pullups.  when you pull over half your bodyweight add specialized one arm work.

I strongly recommend a SF bodyweight course to learn the body language of strength.

^ The SFB course is awesome. Andy did a writeup of a recent one at Iron Body Studios here:  https://coach-andy.squarespace.com/blog/2014/4/16/strongfirst-bodyweight-strength-course

This might help:  http://www.squidoo.com/how-to-make-a-climbing-pegboard-for-less-than-30

I had one arm pull-ups way back when.  I used to wonder why I could do more with my left (5) than my right (3).  Then I remembered when in the Navy I used to hold myself up into the wire racks (I was an IC tech on a carrier) with my left arm while pulling cables with my right.  A lot of static holds in various positions.  When I was in high school (early 60's) we had peg boards and climbing ropes  and were tested for pull-ups a couple times a year.

One-Hand heavy swings are great assistance (?) movement for one-arm pulls/chins. So Simple and Sinister will be very very good.