all posts post new thread

Old Forum Training after recent injury?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Rusty

Level 5 Valued Member
Ladies and Gentlemen,

This is my first time posting here and I am looking for some advice. At the beginning of November I pulled a muscle in my lower back on the right side. I went to the doctor who took some x-rays, said nothing was wrong, and then sent me to see my physical therapist. My PT believed it was a Quadratus Lumborum sprain.  The PT told me I need to improve my abdominal strength and stretch my lower posterior chain, specifically my hamstrings and piriformis. I have been following the PT’s instructions and my back is doing much better. I have no pain, full ROM and the flexibility is getting better.

So that was a little background information. I may be starting a career fire academy next month. My question is what sort of training should I be doing to prepare without re-injuring my back? I would like to train with my bells but with the QL injury still being fairly recent I am hesitant to try. Would it be best to just focus solely on the abdominal strength and flexibility? Any advice would be much appreciated. My primary goal is to be health for academy, but I want to be as physically prepared as possible too.

Thanks for the help!

Rusty

Rusty, if you are medically cleared to train, I would do kettlebell deadlifts and later swings; goblet squats; pullups, strict and eventually weighted; some sort of bilateral press that does not challenge your QL, like the incline pushup; eventually windmills, with a very light weight; plus whatever your PT has you do.