all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Training with Sciatica

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)

John K

Level 8 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
Hello,

I am working with an individual who has diagnosed with sciatica. Their doctor has basically said it's there and it'll go away eventually, but hasn't really provided any "guidelines" for training. This individual still wants to come in and train, but I'm kind of unsure/hesitant how to move forward with them. I've never had sciatica or worked with someone who has.

What tends to irritate sciatica? What tends to decrease symptoms? Are there training exercises or strategies to avoid during a "flare up?" Or any thing to include during a flare up that can help?

Obviously, I'm not a medical professional and I'm not looking at getting or giving medical advice, but I am looking for hopefully a better understanding of this so I can train my client better.

All the best and thank you in advance for your thoughts!

j

I don't have expertise in this area. So my answer is more along the lines of setting expectations. I think it's great when a professional trainer has medical knowledge, but it shouldn't be expected, and in fact there are times when if we do use what we know (but know causally, not professionally) we are straying out of our lanes. A similar thing happens often with nutrition. As a fitness professional, I know more than the average person about nutrition... but I am not a nutrition professional, therefore I don't give nutrition guidance to trainees.

So I think if you train the person normally... perhaps a bit more cautiously... and proceed assuming there won't be any increased problem resulting from the training -- and if there is, back off or modify appropriately -- you should be fine.