all posts post new thread

Kettlebell 75.000 reps later...

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Lehrskov

Level 5 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
Yesterday, suddenly, around rep #300, I suddenly learned how to swing a kettlebell.

The fun thing is that I thought that I already knew how. I have, after all, been training with KB's for 4-5 years now. I've completed the Simple goals, and even the 'Serious' goals. I've done the SFG lvl1.

Now I'm not strong by the standards of this forum. I'm not a fitness professional. My approach has been to use the KB's to get the maximum effect out of a relatively minimum input. 3 workouts a week of less than 40mins - that sort of thing. 100 swings. 10 getups. Done. Rinse and repeat. Perfect for my busy life.

Then, after 1.5 months of no training due to a new child and some property renovation, I decided to kickstart my training again with the 10.000 swing challenge. I'd never done more than maybe 200 reps in a single session so going for 500 reps was daunting. But I found it easy (I have been 1H swinging the 40kg after all) and the 5 weeks went by as an enjoyable passtime. I completed the 20th workout in 22.5 minutes, with a 88% RPM. I lost 4kgs and a waist size and had hands of leather. I even found my glutes in there somewhere around workout #12. Best results on a program I've had ever.

Then I went to Boston and ate Pizza and lobster rolls for three weeks.

Returning Sunday, absolutely bloated from air travel and jetlagged, I decided to go train. Having done the 10K in 5 weeks easily I wanted to ramp it up and have decided to do 10.000 swings in the next two weeks, so I was in for a 1000-swing session.

And then the magic happened: suddenly my hip hinged! I don't know how else to describe this.