all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Anyone have any experience with loaded carries for 30 minutes or longer?

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)

Vulcan300

Level 3 Valued Member
Hello all,

For the past half year I've been going on a one hour walk daily. It's nice being out in nature and I feel that it helps me with recovery from my main workout (less soreness when I do it). Life has gotten hectic lately though: I am a full time nursing student that also has clinicals and work, not to mention my other obligations. It's been getting a bit harder to find time to workout and do my daily walk. My recent positive experience with loaded carries gave me an idea: what if I do loaded carries during my walks (2-3 times a week)? I have a sandbag and dumbbells so that gives me a diverse range of exercise options (farmer, overhead, Zecher, bearhug carry, etc.). I'm not saying I'll be doing the carries the entire hour, but I could easily pick a big patch of grass and just carry until I get tired, drop the weight and keep walking, then pick it up again once I get my strength back. I was hoping to try it for a month or two before it starts getting seriously cold.

My main goal is just general health, having a decent physique, and having the functional strength to do my future job as a nurse without injury. In addition to the loaded carries, I would also be doing the Heavyhands walking program.

Thoughts? is one hour too much? Would 30 minutes be more realistic?

Last edited:
Maybe give rucking a try? I got a cheap backpack from Amazon and I put 50lbs of pebbles in it. I wear it on some of my walks. Its not as comfortable as a pricey ruck bag but it works. And I'm not going for hours at a time, just 30 minutes or so at a time.