all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Cycling and KB

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

J.C.S.

Level 4 Valued Member
Anyone incorporate kettlebells with cycling (or any other aerobic activity)? I would like to ride a century and a few gravel grinders this season and curious to see how others prioritize this type of training.

Man Cave Training Log

7fb9842c-aa31-47ec-a659-231261d8c6b3

Yes, just finished 10 weeks of kettlebell training combined with aerobic base training using cycling. The link below to my training log takes you to October when I started the 10-week program. Before that I have been focusing on kettelbells for a few years, but always continued at least one ride per week, and have also done some running off and on. I'd like to ride a century or two this year as well! I've done 6 or 7 total, 2009 as my first and 2014 was my most recent. What a great way to spend a day, riding 100 miles on a bike! (I know, people think we're crazy :eek:)
http://www.strongfirst.com/community/threads/anna-c-training-log.5881/page-14#post-75843
If you see anything of interest or any specific questions, feel free to ask here, or in my log...

As an overall description, aerobic training at a low intensity (MAF HR) can be combined with just about anything to good effect, but when you start upping the intensity of the cardio exercise (such as tempo rides trying to get faster on the bike), you have to scale back somewhere else. You only have so many resources...

Last edited:
Hello,

@J.C.S.
I think that Anna's training log is already full of the best information you may find.

Another modest option I can give you would be an EMOM protocol with sntaches or C&J (5 each side then rest for the rest of the minutes) during ten or 15 minutes.

This is just my humbe two cents comparing to what Anna can explain !

Kind regards,

Pet'