all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Transitioning from 24 to 32 kilos in S&S

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Anders

Level 6 Valued Member
I am a 30 year old man, who has been active with strength training on and off since I was 15. I am 188 cm, or 6 feet and 2 inches. Not particularly strong.

I am currently doing the S&S program five times a week. I have been doing this for three months.

I have tried reaching the time goal with the 24 kilo kettlebell, that is I managed to swing 24 kilos 10*10 in fives minutes, and I managed to do 10 reps of TGU in ten minutes.

I have tested out TGU with 32 kilos and I am able to perform it two reps on each side.

My problem is the 32 kilo kettlebell swing. It is simply too heavy for me, and I loose balance and it simply feels too heavy. It is especially the grip that is difficult for me. I am currently using cotton gloves to protect my hands.

Is the solution just to continue with the 24 kilo kettlebell until I am strong enough to start with the 32 kilo kettlebell swing or should I invest in a 28 kilo kettlebell ?

Any experiences with this ?

All responses would be welcome.

Anders, Welcome to StrongFirst.

Try the 24 kg without gloves for a while.

Are your 10*10 24 kg swings with one hand or two?

-S-

It is kind of comforting reading this... it is actually the opposite for me: almost no problems two-hand swinging a 32kg KB, but doing some serious efforts to get that 24kg KB up on the TGU. Thus, I have currently gone back to the 16kg KB for my TGUs, incorporating a count-till-10 pause at each stage: on the way up as well as on the way down. Seems to be working, so far.

As per the swings, concentrating efforts on making them one-hand only. We'll see!

I am doing it one handed. Doing one left and then one right. Maybe I could try to do five right and then five left to train more of my grip strength since that seems to be a weakness ?