all posts post new thread

A jolly game of taming iron

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Harry King

Level 4 Valued Member
I have been practicing Simple and Sinister since December 2019. I had a recent set back due to bicep tendon aggravation caused by incorrect swing technique and lack of patience. I followed the program blindly without taking extra time to own the weight before progressing. So here I am practicing with a reduced weight and doing some rehab exercise. On the bright side, I have learnt a lot and feel like I’m going to come back better than ever. Currently training almost daily as per the simple routine.

I chose S&S because of the simplicity and because of the healing properties of the swing and the get up. I suffered a back injury when I was 20 and have not felt better since I discovered Strongfirst! I also like the style and feel of Pavel’s program, it is training that has improved my temperament.

My goals for the future are to continue this style of training - Strong Endurance style ballistics while practicing a grind (like get ups) or following a Plan Strong program (military press, for example).

I work as a lifeguard at an army base pool/gym in Australia. I will also post my deep-end practice sessions (the pool here is 6m deep, I like to swim across the bottom - 20m) and easy 50m lap swimming for some locomotion.

EDIT: I should also add, I lie on my stomach and read immediately after my practice. I treat this as part of my training. I got this idea from Enter The Kettlebell! Inspired by Pavel's comment in S&S that something read twice is better than something read once, I decided to work my way through a five volume set of ancient philosophy translations while I'm doing S&S. Last year, I got through all five, Plato - Republic, Aristotle - Nichomean Ethics, Cicero - On The Good Life, Lucretius - On The Nature Of Things and Seneca - Letters From A Stoic. Now I am right back at the start!