all posts post new thread

Barbell Advice on women's Oly Lifting barbell

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Anna C

Level 9 Valued Member
Team Leader Certified Instructor
Elite Certified Instructor
Sinister
I have an Ohio Power Bar and I've been using it for Olympic Lifting practice for a few months now. It's not ideal for that, though it is usable.

I'd like to go ahead and get a women's Oly Lifting bar, because:
  • 15kg/35 lbs rather than 20kg/44/45 lbs
    • either one is workable but I'd have to compete with 35 lb
  • 25mm thickness rather than 28mm thickness
    • again either one is workable (my hands are not small) but might as well get used to competition standard. Also seems to be a little easier for snatches.
  • would like slightly less aggressive knurling
  • would like a little more spin
  • would like a little more whippiness
  • that center knurl on the Ohio Power Bar is aggravating for cleans
So... what to get? I'm partial to Rogue, but not stuck on it. I've looked at Eleiko and Uesaka and Ivanko and I'm not opposed to making a good investment but I'm not sure I really need a top end bar for just my own use in my home gym. But I may train other here someday also.

I welcome any inputs!

I have an Ohio Power Bar and I've been using it for Olympic Lifting practice for a few months now. It's not ideal for that, though it is usable.

• again either one is workable (my hands are not small) but might as well get used to competition standard. Also seems to be a little easier for snatches.
So... what to get? I'm partial to Rogue, but not stuck on it. I've looked at Eleiko and Uesaka and Ivanko and I'm not opposed to making a good investment but I'm not sure I really need a top end bar for just my own use in my home gym. But I may train other here someday also.

I welcome any inputs!