all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Any opinions on kettle bell design/modification?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

kettlebelltesting

Level 1 Valued Member
kb vs.jpg
Hi everyone! I'm new to kettlebell training and hoping to get some feedback from those with experience. I've been visualizing the above designs to make kettlebells more appealing and comfortable to beginners. So these wouldn't be for the hardcore, no pain no gain type of user. Also, I respect the history of kettlebell and the traditional form and sport. I haven't found much info on kettlebell ergonomics or alternatives with sound reasoning. Like I said I'm a beginner so I'm looking to hear basic reasoning from experiences users. Any inherent problems with changing the bell shape too much?

In terms of function 1,2, or none? And why? What is accepted as the proper grip for the rack position leaves the wrist/forearm aligned similar to the 2 groove version. I could of course change the shape/size/position of the grooves. Also the bell shape and handle could be more traditional but still use the same ideas of padded grooves. It seems having a ball shaped weight pressing into the wrist and forearms when in rack position is not ideal. It also seems like the rack position is just a result of the ball shaped kettle bell and I’m wondering if it could be more comfortable to adjust the shape of the bell like in #1?

I'm only suggesting these designs for new users and people who would otherwise find kettlebells uncomfortable or difficult to handle. More of an offshoot of traditional kettle bells and I'm not suggesting changes to them for any serious competition/training/sport etc. More of a way to start a home gym with as little as possible and I love the versatility of kettlebells!