all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Bottom's up press progressions

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

guardian7

Level 6 Valued Member
I am working on my BU press with a KB that is too light for my regular press, so I leave it in my office. As I mentioned, in a previous post, I have a major imbalance between right and left hand. However, it is definitely getting better after only a week.

I can do a full slow, controlled rep with my right hand, but a second rep is too difficult. However, if I rest about 20 seconds or so I can do another rep. Should I press up and do an isometric hold for time or do as many singles as I can and then an isometric hold to finish for a progression. Or should I concentrate on a hold in the top position for time instead while waiting for my left hand to catch up. I am going them as breaks at work, so I do each hand separately for a single rep only one or two times a day.

Of course, I will benefit from both, but I am wondering about holds vs singles for the next step. I know that the hold is often recommended as a pushup progression when one rep is difficult.

I am also doing simple hangs and an L-sit position weekdaily and loaded carries twice a week after martial arts class. I am focusing on grip and core this month and am taking a rest from regular pressing this month.

I read in one of Pavel's books that the best way to improve any lift was by strengthening the core and grip. I would definitely recommend this, especially for those who are feeling a bit rundown from their regular routine and would benefit from a week or two of deloading and a different focus, especially after a ROP or an S&S plateau. I can see greater hand strength and core in my pushups even, which seems to have given me two more reps since last week. Low volume, but daily works well for isometrics it seems.