all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Club is King

jayjo

Level 6 Valued Member
I now split my workouts between Kettlebell, Heavy Club and Steel Mace.
With Kettlebell I do only once per week, either Swings & Get Ups or Swings & Presses.
Heavy Club one day I do Shield Casts, Circles and Pendulums.
Heavy Club other day I do Ballance Squats and Front Press.
Mace I am still figuring out how to string together a bulky looking flow.

But I think I get the most muscle pump from the Club. Its the best way for me to get yoked since my long ago break up with bodybuilding.

I think if I could pick only one modality it would be Club. It jacks my arms, chest and back. And it heals my low back I think because of the cross body twisting under load (Spinal Engine Theory).

I’ve been fooling around with Indian clubs now for a couple of months. Just last night I did inside/outside circles, shield casts or whatever the heck they are called and a couple different mills with a 3lb club for over ten minutes straight without setting down the club.

I see it as more of a mobility movement and it does seems to help my low back and bad SI joint.

I could see getting into heavy clubs but for now I’m sticking to my kettlebells three times a week. I just wish the buy-in on clubs wasn’t so uh…heavy. I’d prefer to get an Adex, I think. But for now I’m sticking to two days of S&S with one IC in the middle of the week, then other calisthenics and mobility work spread out the other days of the week.

One day of rest where I don’t do anything except maybe a little mobility and stretching work.

I have long been intrigued in what I can only describe as "away from center of gravity training." That is, training with weights held away from the body. Clubs and maces seem to fit the bill, but I have yet to go in on buying some.