all posts post new thread

Barbell Combining 531 and S&S

EvanLee

Level 2 Valued Member
Hello all,
After sticking strictly to kettlebells and calisthenics for a couple years, I decided that I'd like to get some exposure to barbell training. I've been running Jim Wendler's 531 program for about 3 months now, and I really enjoy it. I've been missing kettlebell work though, and I've recently thought about following a weekly schedule like this:
Mon- S&S followed by Squat 531 reps.
Tues- S&S followed by Military Press 531 reps.
Wed- S&S followed by Deadlift 531 reps.
Thur- S&S followed by Bench 531 reps.
Fri-Mobility and rest
Sat-Strength Aerobics for recovery
Sun-Mobility and rest

With the big 531 lifts, I would be limiting them to 15 total reps. Would this volume be low enough for recovery? Or should I separate my 531 and S&S sessions to separate days?

Primary goal: I hope to enter the Fire Academy next year, so I'd like to keep up my GPP with that in mind.
Secondary goal: Slowly build my barbell strength over the next 5 years. I'm in no rush on this one, so I want to keep my progress slow and steady.

That would be perfectly fine.

S&S is made to work in addition to other training.

You don't have to do it that frequently. You could easily do 1-2 sessions on the off days from 5/3/1.

Hello all,
After sticking strictly to kettlebells and calisthenics for a couple years, I decided that I'd like to get some exposure to barbell training. I've been running Jim Wendler's 531 program for about 3 months now, and I really enjoy it. I've been missing kettlebell work though, and I've recently thought about following a weekly schedule like this:
Fri-Mobility and rest
Sun-Mobility and rest

With the big 531 lifts, I would be limiting them to 15 total reps. Would this volume be low enough for recovery? Or should I separate my 531 and S&S sessions to separate days?

Primary goal: I hope to enter the Fire Academy next year, so I'd like to keep up my GPP with that in mind.