all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Guidance on program combining Pavel’s books

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

tomvogel01

First Post
Hi,
I am new to the StrongFirst community and have recently been red pilled in Pavel's ways by reading most of his books.

I would like to combine Power To The People, Simple and Sinister, HardStyle Abs and the flexibility program in Relax into Stretch in the following session:
- 2 sets of 5 deadlifts
- 1 arm Kettlebell swings 10 * 10
- 10 Turkish Getup
- Janda sit ups / stretching session on alternate days

Progressions for the kettlebell exercises would follow S&S (i.e. 4 weeks changing 2 sets to a heavier K) and for the deadlift follow PTTP (i.e. cycling using step loading) with focus on technique and generating tension and avoiding fatigue during the practice.

I personally like having the same workout every day with the occasional day off.

Time not being a factor as I am currently not working, is this too much and unrealistic? Ultimately I realise that. the ultimate authority will be my body but any thoughts and guidance would be appreciated.

Dennis Hopper's quote from the movie Colors applies perfectly here:
There's two bulls standing on top of a mountain. The younger one says to the older one: "Hey pop, let's say we run down there and %&^$ one of them cows". The older one says: "No son. Let’s walk down and %&^$ 'em all".
Start with one program, either PttP (with HS Abs) or S&S - Choose one not both. Get up to their "minimum standards" before switching it up. Taking your time will get you there faster with less injury. After you get to minimums and have gained experience, then explore personalized mods.

Hi,
I am new to the StrongFirst community and have recently been red pilled in Pavel's ways by reading most of his books.