all posts post new thread

Kettlebell How many of us have completed the 24kg snatch test?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

thegoldengod

Level 5 Valued Member
I just started training with the 24kg about a month or so ago with the goal of being able to pass the snatch test. It seems incredibly daunting at this point. My grip strength is not there to go for 5 minutes for sure.

How many of you are able to complete the 24kg snatch test? How did you prepare? How long did it take to get you to pass the 24kg snatch test from the time you started training?

Last edited:
I have done it multiple times. What I did originally was do primarily swings with 32kg until I could do 100 in 5 minutes. I also trained snatch technique with lighter weights at the time. Then I did a basic peaking protocol in which I did 7/7 emom x5 minutes and eventually increased to 9/9 x5 minutes. Then at the TSC, I was able to do 100 for the first time.

I wouldn’t rush the rest periods though initially. Spend time getting really comfortable doing 100 reps + in a session with 24kg before you worry about compressing rest periods for the test. Good luck! Make sure you dial in your technique and you will find it to be very doable!

I prefer the Dan John approach: Multiple sets of 100 with lighter weights. As you get closer to the deadline, the sets creep up from the likes of 12kg to 20kg. The details are out there in various articles. This worked far, far better for me than going heavier. But everyone's path is different.

Definitely good stuff to do if all you have is one 24kg kettlebell available to you.

I just started training with the 24kg about a month or so ago with the goal of being able to pass the snatch test. It seems incredibly daunting at this point. My grip strength is not there to go for 5 minutes for sure.