all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Introduction

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Jacques van der Merwe

Level 5 Valued Member
Greetings StrongFirst!

Quick Intro: My name is Jacques, 44 years-young, 180cm, ~76kg. I'm relatively new to Kettlebells which was introduced to me when I joined a local CrossFit gym late-June this year. Since then, I quickly realised that I really don't like the olympic lifting component of CrossFit programming but have rather become smitten with the Kettlebell. Prior to CrossFit, I worked on various bodyweight training programs ranging from the mobile-app Freeletics through to the Recommended Routine on r/bodyweightfitness (Reddit).

Since joining the Cult-of-CrossFit I have definitely become stronger however I do find it injury-prone. This has led me on a wonderful journey of discovery while researching Kettlebell training programming as an alternative, which has ultimately brought me here to StrongFirst.

I have lurked here for some time, and the amount of knowledge here is truly incredible. With some of the knowledge that I've learned I have a game plan however we all need to start somewhere, and the simpler and least-complicated way is always best. I have a pair of 16kg and a 24kg bell on the way and will begin with Simple and Sinister, and as a Christmas present to myself I have a one-on-one session booked with an SFG II next weekend.

I look forward to engaging with the community and learning from you all!

Cheers,
-Jacques

Jacques,

Welcome to the forum! Always great to meet another “Jim”.

It sounds to me that you have an excellent plan. The people here are very helpful. Don’t be shy about asking questions.

Bonjour!

Jim

Last edited:
Welcome @spicykaiju! S1 community forum, instructors, methodology, and educational resources will help you on your journey to health and strength.