all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Newbie

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

GregMatt

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello all!

My name is Greg and I recently bought Simple and Sinister and Enter the Kettlbell. I am new to kettlebells but not new to weight training. I recently had to cancel my gym membership due to financial reasons. I have a few questions

but first heres a little about me I'm 5'11 280lbs. I'm looking to lose weight and get stronger and look better. I have taken the last year of training off after moving and such

My first question is

Should I do SS or Etk? For a beginner to kettle bells

Can I start with just a 16kg for both swings and TGU? I recently just ordered a 24kg bell.

Do you really do SS daily?

Hello and welcome!

You should do S&S. It is generally found preferable to concentrate on the program until you hit the Simple standard.

16kg is a fine starting weight. Take your time progressing with the weight and don't focus on it.

You can do S&S daily but you can also fit it around your life. The more you do it the better. I wouldn't take too many days off for different kinds of weight training or variety days, maybe a day a week. Take S&S light enough that you have energy for other sports regularly and plan your test days around them. For instance, if Monday is Lacrosse and Wednesday is Tennis it's probably best to have your test day on Saturday.

Welcome to the forum! Excellent choice in books, programs, and kettlebell sizes!

I think you'll mostly get recommendations to start with S&S. not only do the swing and getup build the foundational movement patterns for more complex exercises (snatch, clean and press)...but you will find that it is a more in-depth explanation of the "Program Minimum" from ETK that is recommended before starting the Rite of Passage itself.