all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Q&D for mandated Physical Fitness Test at work?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Freestayl

First Post
Hi everybody, I am new here, so please be gentle:)

I am a 40-year-old police officer. Just a couple of weeks ago, I bought Pavel's book about Q&D training method and started training accordingly. I find it great for my needs due to its minimalism and simplicity. Besides crazy working hours as we work 12hour shifts, I have a big family so 30 min training in the basement suits me perfectly. At my work we have martial arts trainig every week so I thought this Q&D will be excellent supplement.

In a couple of months' time, I have a mandated Physical Fitness Test at work which, among other disciplines such as pullups etc., consists of running 1,5 mile under 11 minutes and jumping from static position when the minimal distance for two-legged landing must be at least 2,3m. The PFT is very important as it directly effect the grade we get for job performance. Therefore I must pass the test reasonably well .. I would kindly ask you for your opinion about the following questions that bother me:

1. Can I supplement Q&D training with aerobic running? Must this be done on separate days or should I combine it into one training session?

2. Would kettlebell swings improve my jumping? Afterall swings are supposed to develop explosive strength. If not, should I do some pliometric training besides it?

3. Is the Q&D method right for me or would I be better off with some S&S training combined with running?