all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Swing technique critique (knee movement and other stuff)

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Bauer

Level 8 Valued Member
Hi there!

I am new to S&S and have some issues with my swing technique. I've read a lot of stuff (mainly from Pavel and this forum) and watched a couple of videos (like Delaine Ross' tutorials) and I try to incorporate all of the helpful cues. My technique has already gotten a lot better. Yet a couple of issues remain.

Here is a video of a mediocre set with a 16 kg KB:
https://goo.gl/photos/tDgS2eVcuwTnDnUC7

And some stills from the same set
KB-Swing-16kg-170403.JPG
Stills 1-3: My downswing phase seems ok to me (plank and hike). Maybe hinge a little later?
Still 4: This is my main issue: My knees move forward for a millisecond when I initiate the upswing with my hips.
Still 5: On some reps I seem to lean back from the hips, arching my back.

I have tried a couple of different clues but I just can't stop the knee movement in the upswing.

What are your observations? Do you have any suggestions for me?

Thank you :)

Hi there!

I am new to S&S and have some issues with my swing technique. I've read a lot of stuff (mainly from Pavel and this forum) and watched a couple of videos (like Delaine Ross' tutorials) and I try to incorporate all of the helpful cues. My technique has already gotten a lot better. Yet a couple of issues remain.

Here is a video of a mediocre set with a 16 kg KB:
https://goo.gl/photos/tDgS2eVcuwTnDnUC7

And some stills from the same set
View attachment 2651
Stills 1-3: My downswing phase seems ok to me (plank and hike). Maybe hinge a little later?
Still 4: This is my main issue: My knees move forward for a millisecond when I initiate the upswing with my hips.
Still 5: On some reps I seem to lean back from the hips, arching my back.

I have tried a couple of different clues but I just can't stop the knee movement in the upswing.