all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Tactical Strength Challenge Programming

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

JakeFHC

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello all - I know this is the kettlebell forum, but figured I would post this here since it applies to many facets of training. For those of you that have competed in or are planning on competing in the Tactical Strength Challenge, how are you programming your training?

I competed in a couple powerlifting completions about 10 years ago, but have since gotten out of shape and the TSC looks like a great competition to get back into the groove of training while also having a conditioning element which seems interesting. I am a novice with kettlebells so I have my work cut out for me in the snatches (and deadlift and pull-ups for that matter!), but have some time to prepare as I don’t plan on competing until the Spring 2022 TSC. Even though the TSC doesn’t have a squat or press, I would like to train them. The simplest combination I have come up with is RoP with a squat movement and deadlifts on variety days, pretty much like the Q&A says in Enter the Kettlebell.

I appreciate any thoughts, recommendations, or experiences!

To give you better insight what are you baseline numbers in the events?
Hi Mark - My current numbers are below:

- Deadlift: I haven’t deadlifted in about two years, but I will test this weekend and report back. My estimation is about 300 lbs.
- Thumbless Grip Pull ups: 3
- KB Snatch: 75 in 5 min with a 40 lb KB. I don’t feel strong enough with the 24kg at this point to due a timed test, but can manage some sloppy reps with the 24.
- Bodyweight is between 205 and 210 lbs

Lot of work to do as you can see…

Hi Mark - My current numbers are below:

- Deadlift: I haven’t deadlifted in about two years, but I will test this weekend and report back. My estimation is about 300 lbs.
- Thumbless Grip Pull ups: 3