all posts post new thread

Kettlebell The logic behind Pavel's programms (no upper pulls ?)

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Andrej SK

Level 4 Valued Member
Hi guys,

I don't want you to take me wrong. I've been doing S&S program for 2 months now and feel really blessed by it. I'm currently on 28 kg and could see results on my body and plan to continue. And I also admire and appreciate Pavel.
There is just one thing that keeps bothering me. You know, you read that there are these basic human movements such as lower pull (Swing, Dead lift), lower push (Squat, Lunge), upper push (overhead press, bench, push ups) and upper pull (rows, pull ups). However, considering Pavel's basic minimalistic programms (S&S, ROP, Naked Warrior, Original Program Minimum) my impression is that upper pull is always missing:

S&S: Swing (lower pull) + TGU (lower push, upper push)
ROP: Clean and Press (lower pull, upper push, little bit of lower pusch), Snatch (lower pull, upper push) - I know that there is also Pull Up in programming, however, as I understand this is just optional, it is not a must
Naked Warrior: One hand Push Up (upper push) + Pistol Squat (lower push)
Original Program Minimum: Swings (lower pull) + Bent Press (upper push)

What is more, even the 6 basic KB exercises that are bread and butter for this movement (Swing, Goblet Squat, Clean, Overhead Press, Snatch, TGU) they all lack that upper pull !

Is my understanding wrong ? Am I missing something ? Isn't working out upper push without upper pull even a basis for some sort of upper body imbalance ?

I know it is mentioned often that by packing your shoulders you activate your lats a bit, but is it enough ? And then, as far as I noticed, adding any exercises to Pavel's programs is rather negatively accepted in this forum (as breaching the programs rules)