all posts post new thread

Old Forum What is the most 'antifragilizing' martial art?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Vicente

First Post
Dear Pavel,

My name is Vicente, I'm an amateur bodybuilder, and totally new (and ignorant) in the world of strength training. Currently, I'm doing research about what martial art would be the most practical for me.

In your fantastic interview with Tim Ferriss, I heard your comments about Nassim Taleb's books.

In one of his books, Taleb discusses the martial version of the ludic fallacy (gold medal fighters might be the most vulnerable in real life fights) that got me thinking about how fragilizing some martial might be.

What martial art(s) do you think could be the most 'antifragilizing' one(s)? Maybe Krav Maga?

Cheers,

Vicente

Vicente,

IMHO, its the art wherein you grow not only in terms of skill but in terms of character and spirit too...

Find which discipline fits you best

Not Pavel (obviously).
But before there was karate and taekwondo there was Grappling Arts. All predators grapple only the prey punch and kick.

I like Koulikovs point of view
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o9gK8UICSs8

Vicente,

I've been in karate 30 years now, and I have had my fair share of injuries along the way.  But they were back when I was younger and all that mattered to me was being tough.  Then I got older and my training has evolved to health & longevity.  My Sensei has a class in the mornings where the average age is 70+ of those people practicing.  When I'm back in town, I love being in that class as they're a great inspiration to me.  They're long past hard sparring, but they're miles ahead of most people their age.

Al

Rory Miller "Meditations on Violence"

I think this book was discussed on an earlier thread, perhaps last year.