all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Using KB for HIIT, inquiry on lower back recovery

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Partha

Level 4 Valued Member
Dear experts,

I am facing an issue with lower back recovery, would like to get your insight. I am 38, 5'6'', 85KG, genetically endomorphic. I have been lifting since 2006, and my 5rep max with BB are: squat 80KG, DL 110 KG, power clean 50KG. I do not have any injury history for the lower back or shoulder.

I shifted from BB to KB for that obvious conditioning aspect, and ease of working out at home. Right now, I am using 2x 12KG and do couple of sets (6-10 reps) of six exercises: swing, squat, press, row (bent over double KB from lunge), TGU and renegade. I clean the KB for each set of squat and press. I can do 3-4x, 30 minute training / week.

The issue is, if I add further sets of cleans and snatches, my lower back and shoulders get really stressed - not sure if that is because: I have not trained enough with KB / incorrect form / just age related recovery. In this case, recovery takes longer and I fail to meet the target frequency of workout. I wish to understand this before stepping up the weights to 16KG or higher. Also, how important is Snatch if my goal is getting lean? I have shifted back to India (my country of origin) few years ago, and it is not easy to find good trainers.

@Partha. Hello. I do not use 2 kettlebells so I am not able to speak to your current work. However, the following comes to mind from your post:

Swing Versus Snatch - StrongFirst

Going forward, I would encourage you to consider the Simple & Sinister program due, in part, to the lack of local trainers. In that, two movements is going to present less of a challenge and a refined Swing and Get up will have tremendous value downstream