all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Could i be over training?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

sebape

Level 4 Valued Member
Hey!

My max pull up reps used to be 17 a month ago thanks to GTG, then i changed my workout program to weighted calisthenics training, and been training push/pull together on Monday, Wednesday and Fridays. It's been a lot of fun and i'v progressed a lot on ring dips (could be because i'm new to ring dips) but almost not at all on pull ups.
Today i decided to do an easier body weight workout and was shocked and disappointed that my regular pull ups had gone down to 14.

My routine looks like:
Weighted pullups 5 sets
pull ups 3 sets with different grips
ring curls 3 sets
ring dips 5 sets
weighted push ups 3 sets
tricep extensions 3 sets
Every set is to failure

do you think this routine looks a bit much to much to be doing 3 times/week? I don't really see any other signs of over training except a mild ache in my right bicep after training.

Sincerely,
Sebsatian

Well... there's overtraining, and then there's under-recovery.

What are your training goals? Are you training for some specific sport, event, or profession?

Do you do any active recovery training?

What do you do when you aren't training? Do you engage in any other physical activities? Or have a physical job? Or a mentally stressful one?
How's your sleep? Overall energy levels? Age? That plays a huge role in recovery.

There are a lot of variables to consider...

Training to failure as you are has its place I suppose, but again, it really does depend upon your goals.

I also do weighted pullups and weighted dips. For me heavy and low reps (<6) variations have no carry over to high reps variations. It's not possible to maintain high reps records with low reps work. Because high reps are strength endurance and low reps are maximal strength, which are not interdependent.