all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Free Heavy Clubbell Programs

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)

Jacob DeRossett

Level 4 Valued Member
Hey ya'll! I've been divining into Heavy Club training these last few years, mostly do to Mark Wildman. I've really enjoyed this style of training but I've noticed there isn't a lot of free programs written out there. Mark has it all laid out in videos but you have to dig a bit to find them. So I've put together a FREE Heavy club program from beginner to advanced for free, its not on my website, just a google doc you can find here. This is the resource I wish I would of had when I started training. So if you know anyone interested in Heavy Club Swinging send them my way, thanks!

This looks great! I've got an adjustable club, but I've only just played with it to learn the movements. This seems like a nice way to organize some basic club work into my other work. Thanks for sharing!

That's a good looking program. I'm a big Wildman (and club) fan and have his 2-handed club program from Strong & Fit. I can't afford the Basis of Strength yet, but someday.
Anyway, I do know he usually recommends two-handed club for time under tension (30 sec on/30 sec off) and one-handed for sets of 5 since it's basically strength training. However, what you have here is perfectly valid. Most mornings, I end up doing sets of 10 shield casts and sets of 5 mills/reverse mills just to get my shoulders working. Usually two-handed, sometimes one-handed, sometimes a mix. Just something to get me moving while the coffee's making.

thank you.
If I may suggest something - I think that total beginners might benefit more from a pullover rather than shieldcast, and instead of inside/outside circle one might just practice hip rotations while holding a club. That would be sort of a clubbell zero program.

thank you.