all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Gada/Mace critique

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

J.C.S.

Level 4 Valued Member

Began swinging the mace a week ago. 360 swings feel much easier to perform and more solid so wanted to post the weaker 10 to 2 swings for more feedback. Long road ahead for improvement and refinement so I appreciate constructive criticism!

I'm no expert but it looks like good form to me.

The only difference I see between yours and Paul Wolkowinski is the rest position between each rep. He finishes with the Gada resting on the side it's just come from between reps where you carry it a bit further to the opposite side. I don't even know if that's important or not. It looks good to me.

@Tarzan I am actually watching his videos right now. The front position of the hands is much lower for better stability and his triceps are fully extended in the posterior position. I am excited to continue learning, almost feels like when I first came across KBs in 2009 (regarding my level of geek out)!

Wolkowinski uses a much longer mace than the onnit one you have, so the downward pull/extension he does is much more necessary. I think that as you graduate to a longer handle/heavier mace, you will find that you naturally do the same.

That being said - I share your passion for mace training! I think the "Rotational" strength aspect is a great compliment to the "Anti-Rotational" strength aspect of kettlebell work. It is also a KILLER grip workout.

My favorite tutorials on youtube are from Wolf Brigade and Chris Duffen.