all posts post new thread

Old Forum Getting started with Rucking

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

BoBandy69

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello all,

I was just wondering, all of you who swear by rucking, what reputable resources (websites, books, guides) you would suggest to someone who is looking to learn about rucking. I have no true experience with it but it sounds like a great form of conditioning that I would actually enjoy to do. Any advice on equipment would be welcome as well.

Just a little background on me and my goals. Currently I am working exclusively on S&S, have been working on it since September. I can meet the goals with the 24kg (Swings: 4:30, TGUs: 8:03) and am slowly adding in sets with the 32kg. I am 5' 10" 145lbs, and am looking to build strength and strength endurance, and don't really care about mass gain.

Thanks!

David-

Check out GORUCK. They are a company that put on events and manufacture ruck sacks. There's plenty to read under their news blog.

As for training it's really pretty simple: put weight in a backpack and go walk. Increase weight. When that becomes easy then begin to increase distance. Never run. It's a fast walk/shuffle.

Take your time with the progress. Your body needs to adapt to walking under load. It's not just muscle strength but the conditioning of your feet, ligaments, tendons, bones, etc. That really can't be rushed.