all posts post new thread

Knee pain during double kettlebell front squats

hambone213

First Post
I've been doing DFW for a few months now - as of recently i've started to get some knee pain in the front middle of my left knee when doing the double kettlebell front squats.

It's like a flash of pain in the front middle of my left knee that instantly goes away - like a fraction of a second - no lingering pain AT ALL. I'm able to continue working out/mountain bike/play golf everything with zero pain. The pain doesn't occur every rep - most of the reps are completely pain free - even after this pain has occurred while doing a rep. It doesn't feel like nerve pain or anything but moreso like I'm really straining the ligament or something of that nature. The pain is specific to me doing these front squats - no pain when pressing, cleaning, really anything.

I'm convinced it's related to some type of form issue I have. Maybe it's when i'm more exhausted and end up leaning forward a little bit? Maybe a mobility issue? I was going to record the next session I do but am taking a break for a few days just to play it safe.

I've done some searching but nothing I saw really matches this specific scenario. Has anyone experienced something similar with front squats? Any feedback would be much appreciated.

The best thing to do is post a video so you can get feedback. Things like knee pain can sometimes be quite multifactorial.

I've been doing DFW for a few months now - as of recently i've started to get some knee pain in the front middle of my left knee when doing the double kettlebell front squats.