all posts post new thread

Barbell Knee Sleeves vs. Knee Wraps - observations/preference?

Boris Bachmann

Level 8 Valued Member
Curious to hear from those among us who use them - what is/are your preference between/observations of using knee wraps vs. sleeves for "heavy" barbell squatting?

I realize that brand and fit can make all the difference when it comes to supportive equipment and would like to hear your thoughts.

I have a pair of sleeves from elitefts that I don't hate, but probably add exactly zero lbs to my lift. And that's fine, it's mostly a warmth and placebo boost for me anyway and I've never gotten a lot from knee wraps either. I also have an old pair of Inzer knee wraps that I like and probably, I'm guessing, add 10lb to my squat.

I have zero experience, but wanted to add on a question. Is there supposed to be any benefit to either if you DON’T have dodgy knees? I understand what a belt can do for you, but I always saw knee wraps/sleeves as a help for those with bad knees and/or to help prevent knee problems, I had no idea they supposedly aid in lifting more. Is that actually the goal with them?

I have zero experience, but wanted to add on a question. Is there supposed to be any benefit to either if you DON’T have dodgy knees?
Benefit to either... either what?
I understand what a belt can do for you, but I always saw knee wraps/sleeves as a help for those with bad knees and/or to help prevent knee problems,
Yes.
I had no idea they supposedly aid in lifting more. Is that actually the goal with them?
A goal for some, but certainly not THE goal for me(tho a side-benefit).

I’ve only used sleeves for my elbows for overhead work.

I don’t see too many people using sleeves for squats unless they have bum knees. It’s mostly wraps for heavy lifting. Both my coaches use them for powerlifting. One trains in them all the time the other only a few weeks before a powerlifting meet.