all posts post new thread

Kettlebell S&S and striking

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Anth

Level 4 Valued Member
Hello,

I have a question about how to integrate S&S into my Muay Thai schedule, but first a bit of background:

I'm a longtime martial artist, mostly striking, a little grappling, and a current Muay Thai instructor. I do two classes a week (one is sparring) and do a lot of drills at home, including bagwork. I also like to do high rep, very short sprints (5-10 seconds x 10 or 20 for explosive power) on my airdyne. Currently I work light drills in during active rests for swings.

I have always felt that I have a strength gap and never really followed a good strength program. I was looking for something simple and consistent, and a stumbled on S&S, which has been perfect.

My question is, how to strikers implement this program? I read a few threads about "finishers" being detrimental to S&S progress, but what about doing bagwork after, or hitting pads? Do people to S&S in the morning then training later in the day? Right after? Never on the same days?

I guess I'm looking to hear about other people's methods. How do you maintain your gas tank for sparring rounds or fights? How do you work in sprints? etc. etc.

I'm pretty new here, so thanks in advance!

@pavelmacek has a great article on s&s and training an mma fighter. Great start and should keep you busy for a while

Search the articles on this site

There are other folks who have a lot more experience in this space than I, but my couple of ideas: