all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Feedback on Swing and Getup

I'm still relatively new to KB's (almost two years on S&S), so take my comments for what they are worth. On the swings, I would stay tighter at the top, making a tight standing plank. It also looks like you are hinging slightly too soon, which would add stress to your lower back instead of the glutes. This video from Master SFG @Pavel Macek helped me a lot with timing the hinge:

Good work overall, and congratulations on starting this phase of your journey! I'll leave you with the #1 thing I wish that I did differently over the last couple years: Consistency BEFORE intensity!

Started Simple and Sinister today!

I would appreciate some feedback on my swing and getup form! Thanks in advance!

Sorry for the whack audio, but the slo-mo is cool.

GU, eyes on the horizon during up/down lunge, will help your balance, and get your flooring squared away. Otherwise looks good.
SW, more butt less arms, and finish at your tallest height, you're leaning backwards. Practice with a smaller bell. Watch the Pavel Macek vid a bunch. And FYI, you're close to being solid on both skills.

Last edited:
I'm still relatively new to KB's (almost two years on S&S), so take my comments for what they are worth. On the swings, I would stay tighter at the top, making a tight standing plank. It also looks like you are hinging slightly too soon, which would add stress to your lower back instead of the glutes. This video from Master SFG @Pavel Macek helped me a lot with timing the hinge:

Good work overall, and congratulations on starting this phase of your journey! I'll leave you with the #1 thing I wish that I did differently over the last couple years: Consistency BEFORE intensity!

Thank you!!

Welcome to S&S and the forum, @thedean !

You're already strong, and move well at the start. So you will progress well, I think! For that reason I'll be a little more nitpicky. However I agree, close to solid on both.