all posts post new thread

Barbell Is sumo easier than conventional?

Adachi

Level 7 Valued Member
I am a nascent novice to barbells.
I look to others for guidance on barbell training. (especially Knock Em Dead by @Fabio Zonin )
I don't currently have much more than deadlifts on the horizon. I have from time to time fretted over the differences between training Sumo vs Conventional.
I am glad to have encountered some food for thought, in a rather equanimous package.

TL;DR. Edit: for a given lifter, one stance or another might feel easier and or prove to be a stronger lift . It depends a lot on your hips, and which parts of your chain are weaker than others at certain positions.

Last edited:
Great article.

But he did ignore the ridicule you'll receive on if you go with the super wide, feet almost touch the plates width stance :)

Its really about body shape. When I used Barbells I only lifted Sumo. For me they were safer for my back. It uses less lower back and more Quads. I would try both and see which is more comfortable.

Sumo always seemed like a cheat to me, using as much leverage as possible to make as much noise in the gym as possible.

This discussion pops up from time to time and the bottom line is this. No, sumo is not easier or less manly or cheating. Some people pull big with sumo, because their body allows it more easily than conventional. Some people are more suited to conventional and can’t do anything with sumo.

When I was competing, Louie Simmons helped me design my basic program and he insisted that I test my deadlift with a sumo stance , but. Be sure to hit a conventional stance as often as possible. So, I would switch from week to week or sometimes from set to set.

I pulled 730lbs. Sumo in 2010at a body weight of 312lbs. and pulled 700 conventional at 275lb bodyweight in 2012. When I lost weight, my conventional stance felt more comfortable and it started to feel better, but I still tested sumo.