all posts post new thread
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Slothdemon

First Post
Hello all,

I have a question mainly targeted towards any one with military experience or similar.

I have been a Police officer for several years and am soon to be joining the Army in an infantry role, with about 12 weeks to train before I begin training.

I was planning on using the “Black Protocol” conditioning program (alongside Simple and Sinister) from “Tactical Barbell” for my cardio work, but was debating on what to do for my strength work.

In short, I am choosing between training for maximal strength through use of the bench press, back squat and weighted pull up/Deadlift OR through use of the Kettlebell press, loaded pistol squat and weighted pull up, with a few regular sessions of deadlifting sprinkled in.

If anyone with relevant experience in these lifts can help advise which they think would have the most ‘functional’ carry over towards my new role, It would be much appreciated. I can see pros and cons to both, so am curious to hear your opinions.

In short: Kettlebell lifts or Barbell lifts for max strength/conditioning for a soon to be soldier - which would you do, and why?

Thanks

Welcome to the forum @Slothdemon!

I have no history as military/LEO, but experience with Tactical Barbell.
For Infantry it's suggested to use "Green" in conjunction with Operator or Fighter. If you head over to the TB forum and ask your question I'm sure you'll get an answer like:
"Use Fighter/Operator (depending on your strength levels) with a bench/backsquat/pullup cluster and 5-10 sets of 10 KB swings as finisher. For conditioning add Green with lots of running and rucking for your E sessions and a mix of bodyweight + KB exercises for your HIC sessions."

EDIT: I just read that it's only 12 weeks. Just do the recommended Base Building.