all posts post new thread

Carter0105

Level 2 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
Hey everyone, I'm a coach from Portsmouth, UK, who owns a studio called On Form Fitness Studio.

My goal with training is to learn through myself what it takes and requires to get stronger, be fitter, and move pain-free. I then pass this on to my members so they can live better lives.

I'm going to start to log my training on the forum as a way to share my lessons learned even more. Here goes.

Wednesday, 13th - Snatch Test - Currently training for my recent (First time with 24kg, and I have not snatched for 2 years due to injuries or other certs) so I wanted to check where we are at after around 45 days of, let's call it, inclusion practice, not huge amounts.

Reps plan: 15-15-10-10-10-10-5-5-5-5-5-5
What happened: 15-13-6-6-8-7-6-5-4-5-4-4-3

This was 86, not what I hoped for, but I watched back, and the form was great. My problem really lay in not knowing how many reps I was doing per arm as I can't count at the same time as snatching. I miscounted 13, then somehow forgot about committing to 10-10 to get me to 50, so I'm 10 reps short of the first time I put the bell down at 2 minutes. It was my first test, so I shall learn from it and will actually stick to 2-minute tests for the minute and nail that 50. I do have the test possibly in just over a week, but with the option of 4-10 weeks with two more strong first events approaching.

I will take a rest day today and then train again on Friday.

A few training sessions to log, as it's been my birthday this weekend, so I've been too busy to log. I would prefer to do this as and when I train, then catch up; it's easy to forget details.

So, currently, I'm putting all my focus into the snatch test coming up. On Friday, September 15th, I did a heavy snatch day.